ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – Wednesday 15th August 2018 – 7.30pm

Wales National Pool, Sketty Lane, Swansea

1. Present

Kevin Corcoran, Chris Pratt (Ogmore Phoenix), John Davies (Port Talbot Harriers), Graham Vyner (Run4All), Alan Perkins (Port Talbot Harriers), Brian Fox (Swansea Harriers), Tony Spiller (Paul Popham R.C.), Steve Hames (Neath Harriers), Richard Lowcock James (Ogmore Phoenix), Pippa Clark (Ogmore Phoenix), James Marks (Cornelly Striders), Jennet James (Cornelly Striders), Gwen Smith (Cornelly Striders), Michael Roderick (Paul Popham R.C.), David Martin-Jewell (Front Runner Events), Dave Bright (Tata Steel), Jules Jones (Port Talbot Harriers).

2. Apologies

Linda Waller (3M’s Gorseinon Road Runners), Bernie Henderson (Port Talbot Harriers), Laura Chapple (Run4All), Huw Mathias (Tata Steel), Neil Samuel (Tata Steel).


3. Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

The minutes were read and accepted as a true record.

4. Matters Arising

Increasing costs of hiring venues was becoming problematic with National Trust costs at Llanmadoc possibly rising to £275+VAT in 2018 while the basic cost at Margam Park is £2.35 per athlete before normal race costs such as First Aid, pins, numbers etc

5. Organisers report

The 2017/18 season had been another successful year for the League with the average number of runners per event being 328 (195 men/133 women). We got off to a solid start at Llanmadoc (239 runners) and fine weather ensured 354 runners at Gnoll Estate (194 men/160 women).


The high turnouts continued at Kenfig (335), Tata Steel (406) and Margam Park (310). Disappointingly the last fixture at Aberavon Beach was cancelled.


As a priority, an area of improvement for the League was to ensure adequate number of officials were present at the finish line to ensure results were recorded. This should not be left to organise on the day of the race.



The League was reverting into Club teams. This was not the principle on how the League was initially intended to run and there should be more encouragement for athletes to run for their works teams eg Civil Service, SouthWales Police, Singleton Hospital etc etc


Our thanks go to all of the race organisers and volunteers for ensuring the races went smoothly and for the continued support of the athletes.


6. Accounts

Full details of the accounts can be obtained upon request from the League Organiser.


7. Election of Officers

Organiser – David Martin-Jewell

Signatories – Graham Vyner, Jules Jones, David Martin-Jewell

Disciplinary Committee – Alan Perkins, Steve Hames, Jules Jones.


8. Fixtures for 2018/2019 Season

23rd September 2018 – Llanmadoc (3M’s Gorseinon Road Runners)

October 2018 – Gnoll Estate (Neath Harriers)

November 2018 – Kenfig Nature Reserve (Cornelly Striders)

13th January 2019 – Tata Steel, Margam

February/March 2019 – Margam Park (Run 4 All)


9.  Other Business

(a) Due to ever increasing costs it was agreed that the race entry fee would rise to £3 subject to change as required.

(b) Regarding athlete participation, it was agreed that the League should continue to try to be inclusive of athletes of all standards, but there was an onus on coaches to ensure athletes are capable of running the full race distance.


9. Meeting Closed – 9.12pm.


WGL FACEBOOK PAGE:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/184941328308392/


LEAGUE ORGANISER:  Lee Llewellyn.   Contact - mail@westglamleague.co.uk


Neath Harriers Alan Currie albrenda@tiscali.co.uk Website - www.neathharriers.co.uk HQ - Cwrt Herbert Athletics Track, Neath.

Port Talbot Harriers & A.C. - Website - www.porttalbotharriers.co.uk HQ - Port Talbot Cricket Club

Swansea Harriers A.C. - Eamonn Kirk/Brian Fox   Website - www.swanseaharriers.co.uk HQ - Sketty Lane Sports Complex, Swansea University.

3M's Gorseinon Road Runners Paul Harries tircoeds@googlemail.com  Website - www.3mgorseinonrr.co.uk HQ - Garden Village FC, Garden Village

Run4All(Neath) - Anthony Hobbs team@run4allneath.co.uk Website - www.run4allneath.co.uk